Grading system in silat

Silat takes decades to master. Working up through the ranks, changing belt colors and adding dan levels to the grading can takes years of dedication and training.

Training requires that the trainee progress though a schedules rank system.

In order of ascending seniority the ranks are visually indentify by colors such as red, black, blue, gray and orange.

In silat seni gayung grading system the students moves from white, to green, red, yellow and ultimately black.

A white belt indicates a novice; a black belt signifies proficiency at various levels. 

Each belt has several sub-stages: red, one, two and three; yellow, one to five; and the black belt has seven stages marled by bars affixed to the end of the belt.

Silat is strict about awarding of its black belt. Even when the students – by now the deserved to be called exponent – have attained the black belt, their training does not end.
Grading system in silat
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

The most popular articles

Other interesting articles

  • 250 years ago a large mass of meteorite arrived by bursting into two pieces at the end if its fury journey near the temples of Prambanan. One of the pieces...
  • Matrimonial prestations are of various types. The most common form of marital exchange is bridewealth (also called brideprice). Bridewealth refers to payme...

Food Science and Technology

National Geographic News